Review: weBoost Drive 4G-X, 4G-X OTR, 4G-X RV (Mobile Cellular Booster)

weboost-drive-4gx-cellular-booster-review

The weBoost Drive 4G-X comes packaged together with antennas in kits intended for cars, trucks, or RVs. But don't feel constrained by the picture on the box - all three kits can be appropriate for RVers.

The weBoost Drive 4G-X has weBoost's flagship mobile booster since June 2015.

We've had the weBoost Drive 4G-X on board as our primary cellular booster since it was released, and we have definitely seen it demonstrate its strengths.

The 4G-X amplifier is now available in 3 official different antenna kit configurations, which can make selecting the right one for your a touch confusing.

Specifications

  • Gain: 50dB
  • # of Devices Boosted: 4+
  • LTE Bands Supported: 12 (17), 13, 5, 4, 2, 25
  • Exterior Antenna: Bundled antenna varies by kit. SMA antenna jack.
  • Internal Antenna: Bundled antenna varies by kit. SMA antenna jack.
  • Range of Interior Coverage: 6" - 4'
  • In Motion Usage: Yes
  • List Price: $479 (4G-X) | $499 (4G-X OTR) | $499 (4G-X RV)

Official Antenna Kits

The antenna kits available are the original vehicle focused booster kit (June 2015), a version marketed to over the road truckers (June 2016), and now a version explicitly marketed to RVers (April 2017).

Here is what is included in each:

  • Drive 4G-X (Original/Vehicle): Includes a 4" mag-mount roof antenna at the end of a 12.5' cable, and a small interior patch antenna - also on a 12.5" cable. Intended for installation on a metal vehicle roof, with installation of a ground plane it can be made to work quite well on an RV roof. $479.
  • Drive 4G-X OTR: Marketed to the "over the road" big-rig truck market, this kit (announced June 2016) swaps the 4" stubby antenna for the 24" tall rigid version of weBoost's 4G-OTR "trucker" antenna (weBoost also sells separately a 19" spring mounted version of this antenna that might be more RV appropriate for some). The interior antenna remains the small patch antenna. This combo continues to outperform all other mobile boosters we test, and is our top recommendation if you can manage the antenna installation. $499
  • Drive 4G-X RV: New in April 2017 (and not to be confused with their RV 4G Booster kit) is targeted explicitly for RV installations. It combines a shorter pole/ladder mount style external antenna with a directional indoor desktop antenna. However the kit makes some compromises with less efficient antennas, use of connectors and mismatches that holds it back from performing as well as the OTR kit. $499

Though the antennas included vary - the core booster is identical between all these packages, and you can legally mix and match weBoost antennas as desired.

There are unofficial bundles that have been put together by various resellers too.

 

Review & Testing Status

weBoost has sent us evaluation units of every official Drive 4G-X booster kit, and we have had this booster in our testing arsenal since August 2015.

The vehicle & OTR 4G-X kit have earned their place as our reference standard that we continue to test all competing boosters against.

We have featured the Drive 4G-X with a variety of antenna combinations in the following testing rounds, and our members have access to the raw field testing data and field notes.

Based on all of these testing rounds, the Drive 4G-X remains our current top pick for those who are frequently further away from towers and who need the best possible upload speeds for two-way video, video broadcasts, and large file uploads.

What about the weBoost 4G-M?

On paper - the weBoost Drive 4G-X looks extremely similar to the weBoost Drive 4G-M.

Both support the same LTE frequencies, and both are listed as having a 50dB maximum boosting gain (the legal FCC gain limit for a mobile booster).

So why spend $100 more on the 4G-X versus the 4G-M?

weBoost claims that the key difference is in transmit power back to the cell tower, giving us a statement saying:

Join the MIA

"The Drive 4G-X has more uplink power, or power sent back to the cellular tower, than the Drive 4G-M. There is about a 6 dBm difference in that power (roughly 23 dBm uplink on the 4G-M and 29 dBm on the 4G-X); this equates to a 600 mW difference in power being sent back to the cell tower. That’s a lot of power!"

If budget is a concern - the cheaper 4G-M will perform nearly just as well as the 4G-X vehicle antenna kit as a general use mobile booster where upload speeds are not the focus. But if you want the higher gain antennas (OTR or RV), the value of the 4G-X kits is hard to ignore. 

Our detailed hands-on review and analysis of the weBoost Drive 4G-X is featured in our members-only section below, including some member exclusive videos - an interview with a weBoost product developer, and our tips for optimizing cellular signal with boosters & antennas.

Unboxing Videos

The 4G-X RV Kit (April 2017):

The 4G-X OTR Kit (June 2016):

MIA-final_FullColor web

The Rest of this Review is:
Member Only Content

We are thrilled & honored to be primarily member & reader funded - allowing us to present unbiased content. The in-depth review section of this product listing is part of the premium membership benefits of joining. Members can also leave their own reviews on products.

Join the MIA

If you're a member, please log in above to read the in-depth review for this product and/or leave your own review. If you've not joined yet, learn more about membership at:

Become a Mobile Internet Aficionados Member

Purchasing Options

Direct from weBoost: Drive 4G-X | Drive 4G-X OTR | Drive 4G-X RV

(Currently offering $10 off for first time customers .. members check your special discount codes for our special 10% discount!)

Amazon: Drive 4G-X | Drive 4G-X OTR  | Drive 4G-X RV

<

TechnoRV3G Store | Powerful Signal | Wilson Amplifiers | Uber Signal | Repeater Store

 

Accessories & Kits

weBoost Drive 4G-X OTR kit Note: This package ships with the 24" rigid non-spring mounted version of the 4G Trucker antenna. This is not ideal for some RV applications & installation. At this time, if you want the shorter 4G Trucker/RV antenna - we recommend purchasing the 4G-X and spring mounted 19" antenna separately.

Power Supply Note: The 4G-X Vehicle and OTR kits comes standard with a 6v power supply that plugs in to a DC socket (ie. auto / cigarette lighter style). If you won't have a DC socket available and prefer to run this off of 110 AC power, you will also need to obtain a certified AC/DC power supply.  The RV kit comes with both a direct wired 12v option and the plug-in AC adapter.

You'll also find some resellers who sell this unit as part of their own 'RV Kit'.

These are not specifically put together by weBoost, however they are using official weBoost components - such as different exterior & interior antennas, adapters, etc.

Amazon: Unofficial weBoost Drive 4G-X RV Kit

Wilson Amplifiers | Powerful Signal

Related News Articles:

weBoost Drive 4G-X Ratings
  • Overall Rating

Quick Take

The weBoost Drive 4G-X is a solidly performing booster that provides additional transmit power (compared to the 4G-M) offering increased upload speeds in remote locations. It's available in 3 different antenna configurations.

5
Comments Rating 2.5 (2 reviews)

Members, Please Log In to Comment on this Article.


RVMobileInternet.com is a Member Supported Resource

Appreciate content like this article? It is brought to you by the generosity of our premium members - who fund the creation of our content. There is no way we could not put this much time & attention on this topic without their support, and we are so grateful.

You can help keep the articles & resources coming!

Ways to Support the Mobile Internet Resource Center